Independence : May 30, 1967

Capital: Enugu (Umuahia from Oct. 1967)

Population: 15 million

Area: 30,000 sq. miles

Ethnic Groups: Igbo, Ibibio, Efik, Ogoja, Ijaw, etc.

Resources: Palm produce, crude oil, coal, natural gas, limestone, iron ore,
cocoa, timber, etc.

Human Resources: 500 doctors, 700 lawyers, 600 hundred, 300 economists, etc.

University: University of Biafra, Nsukka [projected University of Port

Head of State:
General Chukwuemeka Odumegwu-Ojukwu, jssc.

Chief of General Staff:
Major-General Philip Effiong

Chief Secretary:
Mr. N. U. Akpan

GOC Biafran Army:
Major-General Alexander Madiebo [replaced Brigadier Hilary Njoku]

Commander, Biafran Air Force:
Wing Commander G. I. Ezeilo

Commander, Biafran Navy:
Captain. W. A. Anuku

Director of Military Intelligence:
Mr. Bernard Odogwu

Military Assistant to the C-in-C:
Colonel David Ogunewe

Principal Officer to the C-in-C:
Colonel Patrick Anwuna

Prominent Division GOCs:
Brigadier Tony Eze, Brigadier Pat Amadi, Colonel Joe ('Air Raid') Achizie,
Colonel Nsudo, Colonel Iheanacho, Colonel Archibong, etc.

GOC, 101 (ROB Liberation Army): Brigadier Victor Banjo [later executed for

Inspector-General of Police:
Mr. P. I. Okeke

Chief Justice:
Sir Louis Mbanefo

Attorney-General & Commissioner for Justice:
Mr. J. I. Emembolu

Special Advisers to the Head of State:
Dr. Akanu Ibiam & Dr. M. I. Okpara [respectively former Governor and Premier
of defunct Eastern Nigeria]

Biafra’s Roving Ambassadors: Dr. Nnamdi (Zik) Azikiwe (ex-President of
Nigeria, later left the breakaway republic); Dr. Kingsley Ozumba (K. O.)
Mbadiwe, Dr. Okechukwu. Ikejiani, Professor Kenneth Onwuka Dike, Mr. Chukwuma
Azikiwe, etc.

Chairman , Consultative Assembly:
Dr. Alvan Ikoku

Chairman, Atrocities Commission:
Mr. G. C. M. Onyiuke

Chairman, Rehabilitation Commission:
Dr. S. E. Imoke

Chairman, Development Commission:
Professor A. Modebe

Chairman, Marketing Board:
Mr. C. C. Mordi

Relief Coordinator:
Dr. S. E. Cookey

Chairman, Food Directorate:
Mr. Bob Ogbuagu

Chairman, Housing Directorate:
Mr. P. O. Nwakoby

Commissioner of Home Affairs:
Mr. C. C. Mojekwu

Commissioner for Information:
Dr. Ifeagwu Eke

Commissioner for Health:
Mr. James Udo-Affiah

Commissioner for Transport & Communication:
Mr. Felix Iheanacho

Commissioner for Education:
Mr. M. T. Mbu.

Commissioner for Labor:
Mr. Emmanuel Aguma

Commissioner for Rural Development:
Chief Frank Opigo

Commissioner for Agriculture:
Professor Eyo Bassey Ndem

Commissioner for Forestry & Animal Husbandry:
Mr. U. O. Imo

Biafra Representative in London:
Mr. I. S. Kogbara

Biafra Representative in France:
Mr. Ralph Uwechue

Vice-Chancellor, University of Biafra:
Professor Eni Njoku
[ex-VC, University of Lagos]

Director, War Information Bureau
Dr. Michael C. J. Echeruo

Direct Military Aid:
Count Carl Gustav von Rosen (a Swede) of the "Biafran Babies" [Minicon
fighter planes] fame.

Relief Organizations:
Caritas International
World Council of Churches (WCC), International Committee of the Red Cross

Nigeria Declaration of War:
July 6, 1967

Military Administrator of Republic of Benin (ROB):
Major (Dr.) Albert Okonkwo

TopBack to Top